
The minimum balance is only one part of what a UAE business account costs. This guide puts the published minimums and monthly fees side by side, shows how to compare the yearly cost, and says plainly where a bank does not publish a figure.
Business account minimum balance by bank
This table shows what each bank published when we checked its own pages on 18 October 2026. Fees and minimums change, so confirm the current figure with the bank before you apply.
| Bank and account | Minimum balance | Monthly fee |
|---|---|---|
| Mashreq NEO BIZ Pro / Pro Plus | No minimum balance | AED 99 (Pro) or AED 199 (Pro Plus) plan fee |
| RAKBANK RAKstarter | Zero balance: no ledger or minimum balance fee | Other charges: see RAKBANK's schedule |
| RAKBANK business current account | Minimum average monthly balance of 25,000 (currency not labelled on the page; confirm it is AED) | See RAKBANK's service and price guide |
| ADCB SmartStart | No minimum balance | AED 125 + VAT. AED-only account, valid trade licence required. The fee schedule we found is marked effective until 30 June 2026, so confirm the current one |
| Wio Business Essential / Grow | No account minimum listed | AED 99 (Essential) or AED 249 (Grow) |
| Emirates NBD | Not stated on the page we could read; see its business Schedule of Charges | See the Schedule of Charges |
| HSBC | Not verified on HSBC's public pages; ask for the current Schedule of Services and Tariffs | Varies by account |
Sources: the banks' own product pages and fee schedules (Mashreq NEO BIZ, RAKBANK, ADCB, Wio, Emirates NBD). Where a bank did not publish a figure we could read, we say so rather than quote a third-party site.
What does a zero balance business account mean?
A zero balance account has no minimum balance requirement, but it is rarely free. Banks usually charge a monthly plan fee instead. Traditional current accounts work the other way round: no plan fee, but a minimum average balance and a charge if you fall below it.
Which costs less: a zero balance account or a minimum balance account?
Compare the total yearly cost for the balance you expect to keep.
| Plan-fee account | Monthly fee | Per year (12 months, before any VAT) |
|---|---|---|
| Mashreq NEO BIZ Pro or Wio Essential | AED 99 | AED 1,188 |
| Mashreq NEO BIZ Pro Plus | AED 199 | AED 2,388 |
| ADCB SmartStart | AED 125 + VAT | AED 1,500 before VAT |
| Wio Business Grow | AED 249 | AED 2,988 |
If you can keep a traditional account above its minimum balance, it may cost less. If your balance dips often, a plan-fee account avoids the below-minimum charge. Plans also differ in what they include: the Wio page lists free local transfers and users per plan, for example, so compare the features you will actually use.
What happens if you fall below the minimum balance?
Banks normally charge a fee, and the amount differs by bank and account. RAKBANK's page does not state the amount, so ask for the schedule of charges and read the line for average balance before you open the account.
Can a startup get a zero balance account?
Yes, several banks offer one, and RAKBANK markets RAKstarter for startups. Eligibility criteria are not stated on RAKBANK's page, so confirm them with the bank. Our business bank account guide covers the documents banks ask for, online opening and why applications get rejected.
Want a shortlist matched to your company?
Talk to a Fintrust advisor →Other costs to check besides the minimum balance
- Transfer fees - local and international, and how many are free each month.
- Cheque books, statements and account closure charges.
- Multi-currency accounts and conversion margins if you trade abroad.
- Cards and lending - what the bank offers later. See our corporate card guide and business loan guide.
Frequently asked questions
It depends on the account. Zero balance accounts such as RAKBANK RAKstarter, Mashreq NEO BIZ and ADCB SmartStart have no minimum balance, and some charge a monthly plan fee instead. Traditional current accounts can require a minimum average monthly balance, for example 25,000 on RAKBANK's business current account page.
Yes. RAKBANK RAKstarter is described as zero balance with no ledger or minimum balance fee, Mashreq NEO BIZ has no minimum balance and charges AED 99 or AED 199 a month, and ADCB SmartStart lists no minimum balance with a monthly fee of AED 125 plus VAT. Check each bank's current terms.
HSBC publishes business account charges in its Schedule of Services and Tariffs, and requirements vary by account type. We could not verify a single minimum balance figure on HSBC's public pages, so ask HSBC for the current tariff for the account you want.
ADCB's SmartStart business account lists no minimum balance and a monthly service fee of AED 125 plus VAT, according to ADCB's product page and fee schedule. Other ADCB business packages have their own requirements, so check the current schedule before you apply.
RAKBANK's RAKstarter is a zero balance account with no ledger or minimum balance fee. Its business current account page shows a minimum average monthly balance of 25,000. The page does not label the currency, so confirm it with RAKBANK.
It depends on your balance and how you use the account. Compare the total yearly cost: a plan-fee account costs 12 times the monthly fee, while a traditional account may cost nothing if you keep the minimum balance and a fee if you fall below it.
Related guides:
Want the right account, first time?
We match your company to the bank most likely to approve it and check the fees with you.